Book Reviews

“Submerging” book review

Yes yes I know I’m supposed to be studying but books are my stress busters so..


sybmerging.jpgTitle: Submerging (Starlight Chronicles #3)

Author: C.S. Johnson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Synopsis:

There is nothing like a birthday to give Hamilton Dinger something to look forward to in his busy life. With his new job as a part-time intern at the Mayor’s office, being a full-time high school student and Starlight Warrior has its challenges. And although he has the full support of his girlfriend, Gwen, and his best friend, Mikey, and even a tentative partnership with Starry Knight, his ally against the Seven Deadly Sinisters, he has definite cause for concern. The arrival of SWORD, the growing demonic activity in Apollo City, and the increasingly negative media attention has sparked ongoing unrest among the city and its inhabitants.

But Hamilton has some additional help in Aletheia, a new supernatural ally, who has come to equip Hamilton for his calling to be a Starlight defender. With the help of the crew of the Meallán and its captain, St. Brendan the Navigator, and Aletheia’s sister, the Star of Time, Elysian and Hamilton set off for the Celestial Kingdom to deepen his commitment through learning, new landscapes, and cosmic surfing.

As evil forces continue in their quest for power and control, Hamilton finds uncertainty and distrust between his two worlds. Can he find the answers that will help him? Will he find the strength he needs to carry on? Will Wingdinger realize the importance of his choices, and more importantly–make the right ones?

*NOTE: I was given an advance reading copy by the author in return for an honest review.

Thank you, C.S. Johnson!

My review:

This is one of those series’ that gets better with time. The first book was a 3-starrer, I gave the second a 3.5 and this one is really a 4. I wish I could rate it more but a few parts could have been done better

The last book Calling ended in a suspense with some more detail about the supernatural elements and few more characters brought in.

I noticed two major improvements in this book. One, the writing style. During the previous books I didn’t get the satisfaction of being completely immersed in, while here I had no problem and finished it within a few hours. Second, details. Many more intricate details were mentioned, more characters intervowen and clues left for us readers to find.

We still do not know Starry Knight’s identity but I think I might have figured it out and it does not at all feel dragged. I feel anticipation for when Hamilton Dinger finds out her identity.

The character development of Dinger was almost phenomenal. It’s realistic and most other characters notice too.

“Us? You mean you’re sharing the credit all of a sudden?”
“Huh?” I looked up, a bit surprised. I’d gotten used to the
broken, fragmented arguments between Elysian and myself,
but it was always jarring to hear a completely different subject
thrown into my train of thought (not to mention one I didn’t
particularly appreciate).
Elysian smirked. “You mean that you did that
unintentionally? Goodness, what is the world coming to?” He
giggled into his claws.

We also get to know a lot more about Elysian, the changeling dragon. Details and flaws in character makes him feel more real.

The best part- Dinger and Starry Knight!! I’d been waiting for something to happen between them right from when she was introduced. Their story is happening! And turns out *whispers* they have history!

Oh after that ending (not too suspence filled) I’m just waiting in giddiness for book 4.

Check out the author’s blog

One thought on ““Submerging” book review

Leave a Reply

