Ode to you

If I ever had to write
An ode to you
It would tell the world
How I truly see you
Inside out

I would write
About your huge heart
Incredible kindness
Benign thoughtfulness
And your unwavering support

Patriotism and humanity
Equally balanced in your spirit
You make rest of the population
Look lacking in feature

But no, I wouldn’t by myself
Use descriptive linguistics
To describe the majestic soul
That you are

I would rather use actions
To be all I can be for you
And give all of me to you
Because you, my love,
Deserve all that and more.

 

-Sumedha Shankar

2 thoughts on “Ode to you

Leave a Reply

