General

Chance hearts (Part 9)

Pike

12 years and I’m finally out. It’s startling to see how the world has moved on when you haven’t.

The sun was so bright the day I was released, I thought I might have blind spots for life. I was given some money and a small apartment to live in. After two days of cleaning and setting up the apartment, I went out in search of a job. Its been hard; no one is willing to hire an ex-convict. Its been a week now, and I’m still sitting in a café checking out the classifieds. I haven’t tried McDonald’s though, maybe I will soon.

I wasn’t prepared to miss Quill so much. I thought if I’m in London I wouldn’t see the Dublin streets we roamed together and get nostalgic. Instead, I see any dark brown haired woman, I think of her; I look at every couple and remember us. I don’t suppose I can approach her after 12 years asking her if we could get back together. She would have moved on too. I wonder if she ever thinks of me, I wonder what she thinks of me.

At least now I get to write in a real diary; small consolation.

One thought on “Chance hearts (Part 9)

Leave a Reply

